Phase 1 Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Live Updates From Key States – UP, Bihar, West Bengal, Andhra Pradesh

Phase 1 Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Live Updates From Key States - UP, Bihar, West Bengal, Andhra Pradesh

The counting of votes will take place on May 23.

New Delhi: 

Voting has begun for 91 constituencies in the first phase of 2019 Lok Sabha elections. Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, West Bengal and Andhra Pradesh are crucial among 20 states and Union Territories going to polls today.

Eight seats of western Uttar Pradesh will go polls today with BJP facing a tough contest in all the seats due to the alliance of Samajwadi Party, Bahujan Samaj Party and Rashtriya Lok Dal. The Congress is likely to cut into votes of both the BJP and the combined alliance. In Bengal, 18 candidates are contesting from two constituencies and the main parties are the BJP, Congress, TMC and Left (CPM, RSP, AIFB).

Andhra Pradesh, still smarting over the bifurcation of Telangana, is set for what appears to be a tight contest for its 175 assembly seats and 25 Lok Sabha seats in the first phase. In Bihar, four Lok Sabha seats will see polling on Thursday. LJP leader Chirag Paswan is contesting from Jamui reserved seat. He is the sitting MP and is locked in a virtual straight contest with Bhudeo Chaudhary of RLSP.

The counting of votes will take place on May 23.

Here are the LIVE updates from Lok Sabha Elections in Key States:

Apr 11, 2019
07:29 (IST)

Voting has also started in Uttar Pradesh, the state which sends the maximum number of lawmakers to Lok Sabha. Voting is being held in eight of 80 seats. The constituencies include Saharanpur, Kairana, Muzaffarnagar, Bijnor, Meerut, Baghpat, Ghaziabad, Gautam Buddha Nagar.
The Mayawati-Akhilesh Yadav-Ajit Singh combine is taking on the BJP in the state. The Congress is going it alone, setting up three-cornered contests on most seats.

Apr 11, 2019
07:27 (IST)

Visuals from a polling booth in Vishapkhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh, as voting begins. Polling has started in Andhra Pradesh for the Lok Sabha elections and Legislative Assembly elections for the single phase. The state has 175 Assembly constituencies and 25 Lok Sabha seats. This is the first general election in the state after the bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh in 2014.
Polling for all 25 Lok Sabha and 175 assembly seats will be held simultaneously. There are 2,118 candidates for the state polls and 319 for the Lok Sabha elections. 
Strong anti-incumbency, caste and corruption are the major factors that could determine the outcome of the elections to Lok Sabha and the state assembly as over 3.93 crore voters get to exercise their franchise. TDP chief and Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu will be seeking election from Kuppam, while his son Nara Lokesh is making his electoral debut from Mangalagiri. YSR Congress chief YS Jaganmohan Reddy, an aspirant for the chief minister’s post, is fighting from his family’s pocketborough Pulivendula.

Apr 11, 2019
06:50 (IST)

People wait outside a polling booth in West Bengal’s Cooch Behar, ahead of the voting for Lok Sabha Elections 2019, reports news agency ANI.

In West Bengal, vote for Cooch Behar (SC) and Alipurduar (ST) constituencies will start at 7 am and continue till 6pm.

Sign Up for Our Newsletters

Get notified of the best deals on our WordPress themes.

You May Also Like

The Power of Raw, Honest Stories About Money

ImageFrom left, the financial advice authors Gaby Dunn, Chanel Reynolds and Vicki…

Nationwide Manhunt For Suspect Behind Pipe Bombs Sent To Democrats, CNN

The discovery of five pipe bombs mailed to prominent Democrats, CNN and…

JPMorgan Chase Moves to Be First Big U.S. Bank With Its Own Cryptocurrency

In 2017, Jamie Dimon, JPMorgan Chase’s chief executive, declared Bitcoin a “fraud”…

“Belligerent” Brett Kavanaugh Started Bar Fight During College: Classmate

Future Supreme Court nominee Brett Kavanaugh and two fellow Yale University students…